Untitled

mail@pastecode.io avatar
unknown
plain_text
a year ago
2.5 kB
1
Indexable
Never
def purge_logs():
    vm_details = get_vm_details()

    for vm in vm_details:
        vm_id = vm['vm_id']
        vm_ip = vm['vm_ip']
        syslog_file = vm['syslog_file_location']
        retention_period = get_retention_period(vm_id)
        bookmark_index = get_bookmark_index(vm_ip)

        print("VM:", vm_id)
        print("Syslog File Location:", syslog_file)
        print("Retention Period:", retention_period)
        print("Bookmark Index:", bookmark_index)
        print("Purging Logs...")

        try:
            bookmark_line = linecache.getline(syslog_file, int(bookmark_index)).strip()
            print("Bookmark Line:", bookmark_line)
        except Exception as e:
            print("Exception while reading line from file:", e)
            return None

        if not bookmark_line:
            print("Bookmark line not found.")
            continue

        bookmark_timestamp = get_timestamp_from_line(bookmark_line)
        print("Bookmark TImestamp : ",bookmark_timestamp)

        # Calculate the purging date (retention_period days before the bookmark timestamp)
        bookmark_date = datetime.datetime.strptime(bookmark_timestamp, "%Y-%m-%dT%H:%M:%S+00:00")
        print("Bookmark Date : ",bookmark_date)
        purging_date = bookmark_date - datetime.timedelta(days=retention_period)
        print("Purging Date : ",purging_date)

here in this line -

# Calculate the purging date (retention_period days before the bookmark timestamp)
        bookmark_date = datetime.datetime.strptime(bookmark_timestamp, "%Y-%m-%dT%H:%M:%S+00:00")
        print("Bookmark Date : ",bookmark_date)

we are already getting this bookmark date then again below in the code-

# Perform the log purging
        lines_to_keep = []
        lines_purged = 0  # Counter for purged lines
        with open(syslog_file, "r") as file:
            for line in file:
                timestamp = get_timestamp_from_line(line)
                line_date = datetime.datetime.strptime(timestamp, "%Y-%m-%dT%H:%M:%S+00:00")
                if line_date > purging_date:
                    lines_to_keep.append(line)
                else:
                    lines_purged += 1


why are we again opening syslog file and getting timestamp here in these lines-

timestamp = get_timestamp_from_line(line)
                line_date = datetime.datetime.strptime(timestamp, "%Y-%m-%dT%H:%M:%S+00:00")